Chicken Enchiladas

Chicken enchiladas are delicious. The meat is encased by a soft, flour tortilla and covered by a sauce. Usually I prefer a red sauce, but today I decided to try something new and use a white sauce.

First things first, you need chicken. This recipe is a great way to use up left over chicken. Unfortunately I didn’t have any pre-cooked chicken on hand, so I cut 2 chicken breasts into chunks, seasoned with salt, and put it in my loved toaster oven. Using the convection setting it took about 15 minutes at 350 degrees.

While the chicken is cooking, I turn my attention to the sauce. I use a small bowl to mix a can of cream of chicken soup and almost 3/4 cup of sour cream. Nothing else needs to go in this bowl so I set it aside.

Now I put a medium size saucepan on the stovetop. The saucepan needs to be large enough to fit 2 cups of chicken with room to stir. Add butter and turn the burner on to medium heat.

The butter is starting to melt and I am chopping an onion. I add the onion to the pan with the now melted butter. Let it sauté for a minute or two and then add a dash of chili powder.

By this time the chicken is cooked. The food processor is an easy way to chop up the chicken. I place the chunks of chicken into the container and seconds later, it is all chopped.

I can smell the onions cooking in the butter and a faint wisp of the chili powder. All the mixture needs is the chicken and of the soup mixture. Add the chicken to the pan and sprinkle lightly with cumin powder. Next, I put in about 1/4 of the soup sauce. Mix everything together, put the lid on and let it warm. I turn the heat down to low.

2015-07-25 13.30.53

I use a 9×13 glass dish to cook the tortilla. To prevent the bottom of the tortilla from getting crispy, cover the bottom of the dish with about 1/4 of the remaining mixture. You only need enough to lightly cover the bottom. There can be gaps where some areas have more and others have less.

Now to make the enchiladas! Spoon around 1/3 cup of the meat mixture in the center of tortilla. I like to make my enchiladas full with meat, adjust the amount to how much meat you want in each.

To roll the tortillas, I find it easiest to fold the top and then the bottom down. Then I fold the sides. It’s okay if the side of the tortilla extends past the roll. Place the tortilla seam side down in the dish. I find that 5 tortillas fit perfectly in the dish and use up all the meat.

Once the enchiladas are made and placed in the dish, I pour the remaining soup sauce on top. I use a spatula to even out the sauce. Keep the majority of the sauce on top of the enchiladas.

The last step is to add cheddar cheese. I like to add enough to cover the sauce. Be careful to not let any cheese fall on to the bottom of the dish or the sides because it will burn. 

  2015-07-25 13.49.01

My husband and I sat down to eat about an hour after I started. The prep work took about 30 minutes, cook time was 25 minutes and we could only bare to wait about 5 minutes for the enchiladas to cool before digging in.

2015-07-25 14.26.32

I paired the chicken enchiladas with a fresh, garden herb salad. It was a tasty as it looks!


Ingredients:

2 chicken breasts, chopped

1 can of condensed cream of chicken soup (10.75 ounce)

1/2 cup sour cream

1 tablespoon butter

1 onion

1 teaspoon chili powder

1 teaspoon cumin powder

6 flour tortillas

1 cup shredded cheese

Directions:

  1. Cook chicken. (If you already have cooked chicken, go to step 2.)
  2. Mix together 1 can of condensed cream of chicken soup and 1/2 cup sour cream. Set aside.
  3. Melt 1 tablespoon butter in saucepan over stove. Add onion, and a few minutes, child powder. Sauté.
  4. Add chicken to saucepan and sprinkle with cumin powder. Add 1/3 of soup sauce. Stir.
  5. Lightly spread 1/4 of the remaining soup sauce in bottom of the baking dish.
  6. Spread about 1/3 cup on the chicken mixture down the center of each tortilla. Roll and lay seam side down in the baking dish.
  7. Spoon the remaining soup sauce on top. Sprinkle with cheese.
  8. Bake 25 minutes at 350 degrees in a preheated oven in a 9×13 baking dish.
Leave a Reply

