Pasta Carbonara

One afternoon my husband and I were trying to figure out what to eat for dinner. He remembered a pasta dish with bacon that he ordered one time at a restaurant. I was skeptical, I like bacon but with pasta? He convinced me to make it and my views on bacon and pasta forever changed! This recipe has become a staple.

He and I love to make this recipe together. The prep work can be perfectly divided for two. I start boiling a pot of water on the stove, and he starts prepping the bacon. He uses about three strips of bacon, and cuts it into one inch pieces. While that is cooking, he works on the garlic and onion. We just bought a garlic chopper, and it is amazing. So much easier.

2015-07-26 12.49.44

Meanwhile, I crack 2 eggs into a measuring cup and add 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese (sounds weird, but trust me). I whisk it together and to make it a little thinner, I add 1/4 of water. I head back to the stove and add the pasta to the boiling water. By this time the bacon is cooking and our kitchen is smelling wonderful.

2015-07-26 12.54.28

The pasta and bacon/garlic/onion mixture finish at about the same time.

2015-07-26 13.00.54

I strain the pasta and it goes back into the same pot. He pours the bacon/garlic/onion on top of the pasta and mixes it all together. Then, I add the egg/cheese mixture and he quickly mixes it together.

2015-07-26 13.07.18

The last step is to add black pepper. We like to sprinkle it on top of our individual portions. One time we got too excited to eat the pasta carbonara, and we forgot the black pepper. Turns out, it makes the recipe. It only took a couple of bites for us to realize something was different, we couldn’t believe what a difference the pepper the makes.

2015-07-26 13.16.292015-07-26 13.18.15


Ingredientes:

  • 1 box of spaghetti 
  • 3 slices of bacon
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1/4 of an onion, chopped
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup parmesan cheese
  • black pepper

Directions:

  1. Cook spaghetti, according to directions.  
  2. Cut bacon into 1 inch pieces and cook in a separate pan. Add 3 cloves of garlic and 1/4 of a chopped onion.
  3. In a mixing bowl, whisk together 2 eggs and 1/2 cup parmesan cheese.
  4. Drain pasta and put back into pot. Add bacon/garlic/onion mixture. Stir.
  5. Add egg/cheese mixture to pasta. Stir.
  6. Sprinkle with black pepper.
4 thoughts on “Pasta Carbonara

Leave a Reply

