Melon Juice

A few years ago my husband, Ivan, and I went to Panama to visit his family. He grew up in Panama. During our visit I fell in love with natural, fruit juices. It is common to have fruit juices with every meal so I tried a different type of fruit juice every day. I quickly found my favorite- maracuyá (passion fruit). Delicious! We return home and almost a year later, I am still raving about the fruit juices. Suddenly, during one of my speeches about the incredible juices, Ivan says, “you know, I can prepare fruit juices here.” My jaw drops. I thought that preparing fruit juices took special techniques and years of experience. Turns out all you need is a juicer. 

Melon juice is a refreshing and light fruit juice. You can use any type like cantaloupe or honeydew. Stores don’t always distinguish between the different types, sometimes the sign just says melon. The one seen in my pictures is an orange-flesh honeydew. (I had no idea, until I searched on the internet.)

One melon will yield a pitcherful. The prep work is simple: cut the melon in half and scoop out the seeds. I like to use a large, metal spoon. Then I cut the halves into quarters. Now the fruit of the melon can be easily sliced off from the outer shell. Be careful with your fingers!

2015-07-27 16.14.05

I cut the fruit into quarters that fit into the tube of my juicer. I put the setting on low and vroom! The juice is made.

2015-07-27 16.40.22

Now it is time to add the two other ingredients, sugar and water. Some people argue about the use of sugar, I find it helps to keep the flavor when diluting the juice with water.  I use a regular spoon and add 2 heaping spoonfuls of sugar. Now pour the melon juice in. I add an equal amount of water. So if the melon juice is 2 cups, I add 2 cups of water. Stir and enjoy!

melon juice

2015-08-03 15.14.17

2 thoughts on “Melon Juice

Leave a Reply

