New York meets Carolina Barbecue Sauce

This barbecue sauce is a perfect combination of rich, brown bbq sauce and the tart taste of vinegar. Sweet, thick, and with a bit of tang.

I grew up in central New York and barbecue sauce was dark brown, slightly sweet, and thick: it slowly oozed out of bottles. I had my Dinosaur BBQ and life was good. Then I moved to North Carolina and my taste buds encountered some new experiences, such as the NC vinegar based sauce. Suddenly, I was faced with a difficult decision. Do I put a thick, tomato based sauce on my meat or a light, vinegar based sauce??? It is a tough choice. Most times, I divide the meat into halves so I can use both sauces =)

Making this barbecue sauce is a breeze and so is the clean up! You only need 4 dishes/utensils: 1 2 cup measuring cup, 1 tablespoon, 1 teaspoon and a whisk. I start by squeezing 1/2 cup of ketchup into the measuring cup. Then I add the molasses on top of the ketchup, I stop when it reaches the 1 cup mark on the measuring cup. (See what I did here, I use the lines on the measuring cup to guide me instead of dirtying another dish. Sometimes the different liquids combine slightly, which is okay, but if you want exact measurements use the measuring cup and pour the ingredients into another bowl.) Next, I add enough soy sauce to reach the 1 and 1/2 cup line. Pour in the vinegar until it reaches the 1 and 3/4 line. I add 1/2 tablespoon of brown sugar, then 1 tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce and finally a dash of garlic powder. I whisk everything together until it is well mixed.

There are many ways to use this barbecue sauce. You can pour the sauce over uncooked meat and then cook it. You can serve it on top of already cooked meat. Any which way you use it, it is delicious.

Barbecue Sauce

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup ketchup
  • 1/2 cup molasses
  • 1/4 white vinegar
  • 1/2 cup soy sauce
  • 1/2 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic

Directions:

  • Combine 1/2 cup of ketchup, 1/2 cup of molasses, 1/4 cup of molasses, 1/4 cup of white vinegar, 1/2 cup of soy sauce, 1/2 tablespoon of brown sugar, 1 tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce and 1/2 teaspoon of garlic into a bowl. Whisk until well combined.
2 thoughts on “New York meets Carolina Barbecue Sauce

Leave a Reply

